Feb 21, 2017

Recent Reads: The Blue Chair by Cary Fagan

Source: Received from Tundra Books and Librarything Early Reviewers Program in exchange for an honest review this in no way alters my opinion or review.
Little Blue Chair
Little Blue Chair
Publisher:  Tundra Books
Publication Date:  January 24, 2017

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27405327-pop-manga-coloring-book?from_search=true  https://www.amazon.com/Pop-Manga-Coloring-Book-Beautiful/dp/0399578471?ie=UTF8&SubscriptionId=1MGPYB6YW3HWK55XCGG2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=0399578471&linkCode=as2&redirect=true&ref_=x_gr_w_bb&tag=x_gr_w_bb-20

Format:  Hardback



Goodreads Synopsis: 
A sweet, whimsical tale that chronicles the journey of a chair as it changes hands and uses. Perfect for fans of The Good Little Book, Something for Nothing and Virginia Lee Burton's The Little House.

Boo's favorite chair is little and blue. He sits in it, reads in it and makes a tent around it...until the day he grows too big for it. His mother puts the little blue chair out on the lawn where a truck driver picks it up. The truck driver sells it to a lady in a junk store where it sits for many years until it's sold and put to use as a plant stand. In the years that follow, the little blue chair is used in many other ways -- on an elephant ride, in a contest, on a Ferris wheel, in a tree...until the day it flies away, borne aloft by balloons, and lands in a garden of daffodils where a familiar face finds it.
A charming, beautifully illustrated read-aloud that follows the adventures of a little chair, beginning as the seat of a small child who loves books and circling back to that child's child many years (and bottoms) later.
Little Blue Chair was a quaint read about a little blue chair as it makes its way through multiple owners. What I loved about this book is that the chair's travel was based in re-homing and recycling goods. I loved this so much. I think that the younger generation should learn about things like this, you don't always need something new, you can just as easily find something that might serve your needs already around. I think it was a good message to spread.

Aside from the story itself, the illustrations were light and delicate but able to show the value of the little chair and how it helped a bunch of different people and then the best of all was how sentimental the ending of the story is. Overall this was very adorable and I really enjoyed it.

No comments:

Post a Comment