May 14, 2018

Blog Tour: Review and Giveaway - Death Doesn't Bargain by Sherrilyn Kenyon

So excited to be helping with this tour! Pirate books for the win. Below you will find both the review for book 2, and if you have not picked up the series yet, book 1. Enjoy and make sure to visit others on the tour too!

Death Doesn't Bargain by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Series: Deadman's Cross #2  
Publisher: Tor Books
Publication Date: May 8, 2018

(Haven't Read Book 1? - Keep scrolling for a review of Deadmen Walking)

About the Book

Death Doesn’t Bargain is the second historical fantasy title in New York Times bestselling author Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Deadman’s Cross series. Where Deadmen tell their tales, and every soul is damned or redeemed by the final choices they make.

The Deadmen are back...

But so are the demons who have broken free of their eternal prison and are bent on mankind's destruction. The worst of the lot is Vine, determined to claim their lives for taking hers. She will see the world burn...and has the perfect lure to destroy them all. One of their own.

Kalder Dupree has never known a day of mercy. Born to the cruelest of mer-races, he sacrificed himself for his crew and is in Vine's hands. He expects no mercy or rescue.

Yet Cameron Jack is determined to set Kalder free. As a Hellchaser, it's her calling, and she cannot allow even a not-so-innocent to be tortured for an act of kindness that spared her damnation.

To defeat evil, it sometimes takes an even worse evil, and Cameron is willing to do whatever she must to make this right. If Vine thought she had her hands full before, she hasn't seen anything nearly as powerful as Cameron's resolve.

Buy the Book Here:

"Kenyon (Born of Legend) puts the lie to the old adage “Dead men tell no tales” in the jam-packed, appealing first book of her Deadman’s Cross historical fantasy series." ―Publishers Weekly on Deadmen Walking.

Deadmen Walking (Deadman's Cross, #1)You can read the synopsis here on Goodreads for Book 1, Deadmen Walking.

The book begins with a girl named Cameron attempting to find her brother who is lost as sea and she finds herself on a ship full of demon-hunting deadmen in order to do so. That is where the story takes a turn, instead of focusing on Cameron an her story, we switch over and the main focus is about Bane, the captain and Mara, who is the ship - I know that sounds wrong, but trust me, that is what she is.

The book is full on demons and monsters and the light fighting the dark - and the dark fighting the dark and the whole thing is captured in this glorious world that the author has built. You feel in the thick of it all with the pirates and the battles and become very invested in the crew and their struggles. 

The plot of this one focuses on Bane and Mara, like I mentioned, and about an evil that is after them and using Cameron's brother to do so. I loved reading about Bane and Mara and their struggles and life together, it was a complicated mess of wars and magic and bonding the two of their souls. I was already sold on this book before the Epilogue and then I was fill-on blown away by the very end. I couldn't wait to grab the next installment.

If you are into pirates, their lore, demons, good versus evil, this book is very much for you. However, be warned - this is a New Adult/ Adult novel and there is explicit content.

So now on to what the tour is all about - Book 2, Death Doesn't Bargain!

SPOILERS if you have not read book 1. 
Death Doesn't Bargain (Deadman's Cross, #2)
In the second book of the Deadman's Cross series, we are again back on board with Captain Bane's crew. This time we are off to save a friend as well as save the human world from the demons we are tasked with taking out. We follow Cameron a lot more in this book than in book one. Kalder took her place in the last book and now he is trapped in the underworld, again to be tortured and Cameron is beside herself to get him back. Luckily for all, a deal is a deal. 

The world grows as we get to know Kalder's past, present, and future through this book and the world is just as detailed as the first. The characters are a bit more developed now and so there is less of that explanation but more threads are woven together for other monsters and demons to take shape.With that came some confusion - I have not read Kenyon's other books (I would like to now) so a lot of the lore that might have started in those was lost on me - details of races of magical beings and creatures were a bit lost on me and I found myself more confused in this book than in the first. There was also more dream and flashback in this book, without much notice. I found myself having to flip back and reread to make sure I was in the right place.

However, overall this was another fantastic adventure and another wonderful ending making me want more. This ending was a little more predictable, but at the second book in a series sometimes it is harder to shock and awe. This series and its world are fantastic and if you enjoy adventure (with pirates) and demons, and good versus evil, this book is for you. However, be warned - this is a New Adult/ Adult novel and there is explicit content - more so in this than the first book.

MAY 9th WEDNESDAY Bookish Lifestyle EXCERPT 
MAY 9th WEDNESDAY Playground of Randomness EXCERPT 
MAY 10th THURSDAY Crossroad Reviews REVIEW
MAY 11th FRIDAY A Dream Within A Dream REVIEW
MAY 12th SATURDAY Reading for the Stars and Moon REVIEW 

MAY 13th SUNDAY Bri's Book Nook REVIEW
MAY 14th MONDAY Cover2CoverBlog REVIEW - you are here!
MAY 15th TUESDAY Booklovers For Life REVIEW
MAY 16th WEDNESDAY Diane's Book Blog REVIEW
MAY 16th WEDNESDAY The Cozy Reading Corner EXCERPT 
MAY 17th THURSDAY Books A-Brewin' REVIEW 
MAY 17th THURSDAY Movies, Shows, & Books REVIEW 

About the Author
New York Times and international bestselling author, Sherrilyn Kenyon, is a regular at the #1 spot. With legions of fans known as Menyons (thousands of whom proudly sport tattoos from her series and who travel from all over the world to attend her appearances), her books are always snatched up as soon as they appear on store shelves.

Since 2003, she had placed more than 80 novels on the New York Times list in all formats including manga and graphic novels. Current series are: Dark-Hunter®, Chronicles of Nick®, Deadman’s Cross™, Nevermore™, Silent Swans™, Lords of Avalon® and The League®. Her books are available in over 100 countries where eager fans impatiently wait for the next release. The Chronicles of Nick® and Dark-Hunter® series are soon to be major motion pictures while Dark-Hunter®, Lords of Avalon® and The League® are being developed for television. Join her and her Menyons online at and



Giveaway is open to International. | Must be 13+ to Enter

3 Winners will receive a Set Copy of both books in the Series and a Pin (DEADMEN WALKING & DEATH DOESN'T BARGAIN) by Sherrilyn Kenyon.

  a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment