Dec 11, 2013

Blog Tour: Review and Giveaway -- The Godsland Series by Brian Rathbone

Welcome to my stop on the Godsland series blog tour!  This is a YA epic/high fantasy adventure series by Brian Rathbone.  The tour consists of reviews of all of the books and the audiobook, as well as guest posts, interviews and more. Be sure to check out the tour page with all the tour information and additional tour stops.

The books in the Godsland series:
Call of the Herald (Book One) - FREE
Inherited Danger (Book Two) - FREE
Dragon Ore (Book Three)
You can also find it in one bind up called The Dawning of Power Trilogy Omnibus.

Find the full list of titles and links at As this is only the first trilogy in the World of Godsland series.

Godsland Book One - Call of the Herald
243 pages  

Echoes of the ancients' power are distant memories, tattered and faded by the passage of eons, but that is about to change. A new dawn has arrived. Latent abilities, harbored in mankind's deepest fibers, wait to be unleashed. Ancient evils awaken, and old fears ignite the fires of war. When a Catrin Volker, a teenage horse trainer, inadvertently fulfills the prophecy of the destroyer, she becomes the most feared and hunted person on all of Godsland. With the help of her friends, she must convince the world that she wants only peace.

Call of the Herald (Book 1: The Dawning of Power Trilogy/ Godsland Series) 
My Rating:

Catrin is just an ordinary girl, working the farm with her father, going to lessons, and just surviving in her age group. One day something crazy happens and she is scorned from the community and dubbed the Herald of ancient lore. Her community is eventually taken by another race in search of her and she much flee all while learning who and what exactly the Herald is and her importance.

From the beginning this book is very detailed and you are thrown into an epic story, with a slight Tolkien feel, the characters are whisked away from their homeland to help the greater good and survive an oncoming war.

Catrin is a teenage girl, coming to acceptance with her new identity and in this first book in the series that is made very evident. She constantly questions what is going on, if she is strong enough to accept it, and if others will be safe with her. She is strong and a very deep character to follow on her journey.

The other characters are just as entertaining but there are some jumps in the story where I found it a little confusing remember the person taking over the point of view. Once you get a better grasp on the characters and where they are it becomes easier but for me it took a few transitions back and forth.

The book has a map so that the reader can follow the journey better than just in their head and that helps a little bit, but it wasn’t overly detailed so it leaves a lot to the imagination.

Rathbone does a wonderful job moving the story along will smaller plot themes and moving into the larger ones. I found it very enjoyable to read, although VERY detailed so it does take some time to read through. It adds to the overall ambiance of the story.

I am already reading the next book in the omnibus and will be sharing the review for that very soon.

Godsland Book Two - Inherited Danger 
276 pages
Leaving her homeland behind, Catrin Volker goes in search of knowledge and peace, unaware that she will face the greatest evil her world has ever known.

Godsland Book Three- Dragon Ore
268 pages
Dragon Ore is the exciting conclusion of The Dawning of Power trilogy. Clinging to life, Catrin Volker struggles to regain her strength as her foes go in search of even greater power. Ancient enemies threaten and forgotten alliances emerge.

Dawning of Power Trailer

About the Author
Brian Rathbone started out as a professional racehorse trainer, but he later transformed himself into a network engineer, programmer, and, more recently, rural broadband specialist. One thing that never changed was Brian's love of reading fantasy fiction. For years he would think of story lines for his own stories as a way to keep from dreaming about writing code. When the time came that Brian could concentrate on writing, The World of Godsland became real.

Author Sites:
WebsiteTwitter | Facebook | GoodReads | Trailer | Free Web Game Feral Dragons | Free Web Game Grumpy Dragons

Books can be found at: GoodReads |


a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

  1. So glad you enjoyed this first story! Thanks so much for hosting a tour stop!